Yep. It's a body image post.
I'm post-first-fight-happy right now, so don't for a second think I'm sat here in floods of tears stuffing my face with cake. I'm not. But I've just seen the photos my Mum took and I'm so angry that my first thought was "God I need to lose weight" and not "I'm so proud of myself" or "I look really focused and my guard is tight there" or anything else positive or even relevant.
"God I need to lose weight"
It just sums me up, I have the worst relationship with my body and it just isn't changing. I've written very openly about my self esteem issues and my disgusting yo-yo dieting and fitness fads. It's never been for attention, I'm not fishing for compliments here, I'm just talking very honestly about something that I think a lot of people can relate to hoping it might help someone. And I'll admit that plastering this all over the internet helps me too! I wrote a similar post a while back on my old blog here.
I've just looked through the photos again and I'm trying hard to see the good bits. So I urge you to do the same if you struggle with what you see in the mirror. And yes, feel very free to praise your image, but also say awesome things about yourself that are nothing to do with how you look. I felt low so I put the new Screaming Maldini track on repeat because dammit I sound GOOD. It's basic self love stuff int it? I say basic, it's the least basic task out there. Kendrick Lamar seems to have got it nailed though. Good for you mate.



No comments:
Post a Comment